Presidential polls: EC begins to distribute ballot boxes, papers for July 18 election

Pre-defined SOPs for safe, secure and time bound dispatch of election material to State Assemblies for Presidential Election 2022. ECI appoints senior officers as Observers for Election to the Office of President of India, 2022.

Election Commission of India, ballot boxes, ballot papers, special pens,  sealed election materials, State Legislative Assembly Secretariats ,  National Capital Territory of Delhi,  Puducherry, Presidential Election 2022,  Nirvachan Sadan, New Delhi , Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar,  Election Commissioner   Anup Chandra Pandey, Assistant Returning Officers (AROs) , Delhi Airport ,  Civil Aviation, Delhi Police,  CISF, Rajya Sabha , IAS Officers,  Parliament House , Legislative Assemblies ,election news, Vigyan Bhawan,
CEC Rajiv Kumar along with EC Anup Chandra Pandey supervising the distribution and dispatch of Ballot Box and other poll related materials for Presidential Election 2022 to AROs from States /UTs at Nirvachan Sadan on Tuesday

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India Tuesday started the distribution and dispatch of designated ballot boxes, ballot papers, special pens, and other sealed election materials to the State Legislative Assembly Secretariats including the National Capital Territory of Delhi and UT of Puducherry for the conduct of Presidential Election 2022 scheduled on July 18. This two-day exercise at Nirvachan Sadan, New Delhi for dispatch of election materials to States/UT in a time bound and secured manner is being undertaken under the supervision of Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar and Election Commissioner Anup Chandra Pandey.

The Commission mandates the collection of the materials from the ECI Headquarters at Delhi by Assistant Returning Officers (AROs) including one senior officer from the office of the Chief Electoral Officer. Once they reach Delhi, officials are also assisted at the help desk at the Delhi Airport manned by the officials of the Election Commission of India, Civil Aviation, Delhi Police, and CISF. Ballot boxes along with other essential election materials are handed over to the AROs under appropriate security and safety measures after complete inspection at Nirvachan Sadan, New Delhi. Delhi Police teams escort the AROs while they come to collect the election material. The AROs return to their respective States/UTs on the same day as the collection of the election materials. During the transportation, the Ballot Boxes fly on a separate air ticket in the front row of aircrafts beside the seat of the officer transporting the materials under personal supervision.

Join us on Telegram for quick updates

While speaking to the AROs from the states, CEC Rajiv Kumar emphasized that strict adherence to procedures by the ECI teams has become its hallmark in delivering error free elections time and again. He added that a set of well-defined instructions and Standard Operating Procedures that are required to be followed thoroughly to complete every electoral process account for ECI’s robustness for conducting elections. He asked the officials to be vigilant and ensure strict adherence to protocols and guidelines for transportation and storage of election materials including ballot boxes and ballot papers.

Once the officers with ballot boxes reach the state capitals, these are stored in previously sanitised and properly sealed strong rooms under strict Videography monitoring. Ballot papers for Presidential Election are also stored and sealed along with. After the poll is over, the polled and sealed Ballot boxes and other election material have to be transported back to the Office of Returning Officer that is Rajya Sabha Secretariat by the next available flight. The boxes and other documents are carried personally in the aircraft cabins – never out of sight of accompanying officers.

The Commission has already issued specific guidelines for conduct of polls and AROs and Observers are trained as such. A workshop for the RO, AROs and CEOs was also organized on June 13, 2022 at Vigyan Bhawan to brief them on all aspects of election procedure for the conduct of Presidential elections. The Commission has also appointed 37 Observers for overseeing the arrangements of polling and counting during elections and a briefing meeting of these Observers was also organized on Monday. The Observers are senior IAS Officers of the rank of Additional Secretary/Joint Secretary, Government of India. The Commission has deployed one Observer for overseeing polling at each of the 30 places of poll in the State/UT Legislative Assemblies and 2 observers for Parliament House. The designated Observers will take stock of election arrangements made for security and transportation of ballot boxes and election material by the ROs and AROs and ensure free and fair elections. The Observers deputed at Parliament House will also oversee the counting process of votes on July 21.

Website | + posts

The Theorist is a mainstream website which contains national and global news with methodical approach. The Theorist has a motive to serve credible news, views & analysis to its readers and to share information which are important for them. The Theorist has a team of writers, photographers and correspondents across the country and abroad as it believes to deliver a quality product with originality and power of effective journalism.