Manipur poll results: Singh is king once again as BJP bags 32 seats

In terms of vote share, BJP garnered around 37.83% votes, Congress has 16.83%, JD(U) has 10.77% votes and NPF has 8.09%.

Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh (in white) at the Shri Shri Govindaji Temple on Thursday

New Delhi: With barely making it past the magic figure, the state unit of BJP in Manipur, steered by Chief Minister N Biren Singh, managed to clinch victory in the state Assembly election, counting of votes for which took place on Thursday.

While the early trends had shown BJP leading in 12 of the 60 seats, later it managed to bring 32 in its folds while the National People’s Party got seven seats followed by Janata Dal (United) with six seats and the Naga People’s Front and Congress, who won five seats each.

Join us on Telegram for quick updates

In terms of vote share, BJP garnered around 37.83% votes, Congress has 16.83%, JD(U) has 10.77% votes and NPF has 8.09%.

The star of the show, Singh, won against Congress candidate P S Singh with 18,271 votes, according to the Election Commission website. An ANI video later showed Singh dancing with party colleagues after the victory. Check the tweet here:

The Chief minister also took to Twitter and thanked the people of Manipur and his party. He wrote, “Thank you, Manipur! The historic victory that we have achieved today is a testament of the people’s faith in the dynamic leadership of Hon’ble PM @narendramodi Ji and citizen centric governance. My heartiest congratulations to all the Karyakartas of BJP.”

On February 28 and March 5, votes were cast for Manipur’s Assembly election. Ahead of the election, the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) said self-sworn affidavits of 60 re-contesting MLAs in the upcoming Manipur Assembly Elections have increased their assets from 1 per cent to 1,682 per cent.

Out of the 60 re-contesting MLAs, assets of 53 MLAs, 88 per cent, have increased ranging from 1 per cent to 1,682 per cent and assets of seven MLAs (12 per cent) have decreased ranging from -3 per cent to -34 per cent.

ADR also said that the average assets of these 60 re-contesting MLAs fielded by various parties, including Independents in 2017, was Rs 2.28 crore. The average asset of these 60 re-contesting MLAs in 2022 is Rs 4.22 crore. The average asset growth for these 60 re-contesting MLAs, between the Manipur Assembly Elections of 2017 and 2022, is Rs 1.93 crore. Average percentage growth in assets for these 60 re-contesting MLAs is 85 per cent.

Website | + posts

The Theorist is a mainstream website which contains national and global news with methodical approach. The Theorist has a motive to serve credible news, views & analysis to its readers and to share information which are important for them. The Theorist has a team of writers, photographers and correspondents across the country and abroad as it believes to deliver a quality product with originality and power of effective journalism.