AAP’s Durgesh Pathak wins Rajender Nagar bypoll by over 11000 votes

Rajinder Nagar assembly bypoll mainly witnessed fight between AAP and BJP candidate though the Congress had also fielded its candidate.

Durgesh Pathak, AAP, AAP's Durgesh Pathak, Rajesh Bhatia, Rajender Nagar, Rajinder Nagar, Rajender Nagar bypoll results, AAP, BJP< Congress, Congress Candidate, Delhi bypoll, AAP wins, Pathak wins,
AAp’s Durgesh Pathak defeated BJP’s Rajesh Bhatia in Rajender Nagar bypoll (photo: social media)

New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party’s Durgesh Pathak has won Rajender Nagar by a margin of 11555 votes by defeating BJP candidate Rajesh Bhatia, said AAP’s spokesperson Saurabh Bhardwaj on Sunday. Election was held for the seat after resignation of Raghav Chadha who got elected as AAp’s Rajya Sabha member from Punjab.

Cngratulating Pathak for his victory, Raghav Chadha tweeted, “I thank all the constituents of Rajinder Nagar assembly constituency for once again showering their love and blessing on AAP. Today’s by poll victory is an affirmation of ‘Kejriwal Model of Governance.’Best wishes to my brother Durgesh Pathak, as I pass on the baton to him.”

Join us on Telegram for quick updates

Rajinder Nagar assembly bypoll mainly witnessed fight between AAP and BJP candidate though the Congress had also fielded its candidate. Election campaign was focused on outsider versus local candidate as the BJP tried to declare AAP’s Durgesh Pathak an out siders while Rajesh Bhatia as local candidate.

Besides this, local issues like water supply to every household, condition of roads, sanitation and power cut were also in the minds of the voters. The BJP candidate tried to convince voters on local issues while the AAP candidate sought vote on Arvind Kejriwal-led Delhi government’s work in the city.

AAP Durgesh Pathak was vocal on health, education, free water, free electricity, free DTC ride for female and several such issues which AAP government has been projecting as its big achievement in the city. Congress candidate, however, had focused her campaign on failure of both AAP and BJP. Though Congress tried to remember works done during Sheila Dixit government but the party has again failed to show its presence among a large section of voters.

On Sunday when the counting was started, AAP’s Durgesh Pathak started taking lead since early round. Lead margin constantly increased with round after the round and at the end Pathak made a decisive lead over the rival candidate.

Website | + posts

The Theorist is a mainstream website which contains national and global news with methodical approach. The Theorist has a motive to serve credible news, views & analysis to its readers and to share information which are important for them. The Theorist has a team of writers, photographers and correspondents across the country and abroad as it believes to deliver a quality product with originality and power of effective journalism.